Try a New Recipe: Jalapeños con Cangrejos

Don’t forget to visit me at The Bad Girl’s Kitchen for more fabulous recipes!

Jalapeños are very versatile, and when Tamy posted her Avocado Stuffed Cheddar Jalapeños, I knew I had to post mine too!

This recipe started out as sort of an experiment. I took a yummy crab/cream cheese filling which I usually use for Crab Rangoon, and stuffed it into jalapeños. Very simple, and delicious. We’d done this before, but before we just baked them and eaten them. I wanted to see if they would freeze and then bake successfully.

Note: To freeze jalapeños, simply place on a baking sheet in a single layer, making sure the jalapeños aren’t touching each other. Stick in the freezer for a few hours, until frozen. Then move jalapeños from the pan and place in a ziploc freezer bag. That way, they are individually frozen and you can just take out however many you’d like to bake! To bake from frozen, use the same oven temp. below and bake for about 30-45 minutes, or until golden brown.

I froze some, and I didn’t see why it wouldn’t work, since it always does for the scrumptious Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeños. I froze them for a month or two, then baked them right from the freezer, just increased the baking time. Success!! They are delicious fresh or frozen, making them very convenient for a party, or anytime at all!

The first time I made them, we couldn’t resist eating the rest of them. We had a small taste-testing party on the ranch, and everyone loved them.

Jalapeños con Cangrejos
AKA Crabby Jalapeños

AKA Crab-Infested Jalapeños
AKA Crab Stuffed Jala
peños

Makes 40 jalapeños, give or take, recipe can easily be halved or doubled!

16 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
10 scallions (green onions), diced
2 cans crab, drained
about 20 jalapeños, halved lengthwise, seeds and white ribs removed

Mix together cream cheese, scallions and crab until well-combined. Cover and refrigerate for several hours or overnight.

To prepare the jalapeños, slice each pepper lengthwise, inserting knife tip just below the stem of each jalapeño, as close as you can get to the stem end but not cutting the stem. Pull the two halves apart, and usually the half the stem will stay on each half (this gives you a handle and it looks nice). Use a small spoon to gently scrape out the seeds and the white ribs inside (the spicy parts). Leave some ribs if you want them spicier, but do so at your own risk!

Smear each prepared jalapeño half with a generous amount of cream cheese mixture. Place jalapeños on a baking rack over a sheet pan.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Bake for about 20 minutes, until cheese is melty and bubbly and just beginning to turn golden brown. Arrange artfully on a platter and serve while still warm.

13 thoughts on “Try a New Recipe: Jalapeños con Cangrejos

  1. How great to know they can be frozen! I linked up (on the sidebar) to the bacon wrapped version I posted here at Our Krazy Kitchen last year. I never thought to try them with crab – add crab abd bacon together and WOW would they be awesome! 🙂

  2. Tamy, you need to make more at a time in order to freeze any! I usually buy 24 (or more) jalapenos, which makes 48 (or more) stuffed…no way 2 people can eat all those! Last fall I made about 200 bacon-wrapped jalapenos for our housewarming party! LOVE these!

  3. LOL Min I think the key for me is making them when no one is around. Usually when I make mine it's like I'm the pied piper of peppers – EVERYONE comes out of the woodwork and they vanish! I will have to try the bacon wrapped too.

  4. sounds like a good plan! Another trick, just don't bake very many! Stick the rest in the freezer! speaking of which, I should update the post with a how-to freeze…

  5. I hate crabby potatoes, they're always grumpy…… ;)We're big fans of the ABT (bacon wrapped cheese stuffed jalapeno with or without a lil' smoky in it) so I know I'll give your version a try this summer.

Leave a Reply

