Cultural Connections: Oven Baked Yuca Fries


Hi everyone I’m Lyndsey and this is my first contribution to Our Krazy Kitchen. I would like to thank Martha (Seaside Simplicity) for thinking of me and inviting me to share with this amazing group of people. Also Our Krazy Kitchen for wanting to include me. I am a home cook who really enjoys food and cooking. I used to be a travel agent and the best part of my job was trying all the local food. So I would like to share some of my discoveries and food finds, that might bring a little cultural connections.

Living in Florida we have a large amount of us that are from somewhere else. It also makes it easy to find many ethnic food right in our supermarkets. There are a lot of Caribbean influence, which is where you will find yuca on the menu. Yucca (also known as manioc or cassava), is a white, starchy tropical vegetable that is widely grown and consumed in Africa, Asia, Latin America, South America and the Caribbean.

Yuca, this root’s name is pronounced “yoo-ka,” can be used a lot like potatoes, especially in stews. Since it is so fibrous it is usually boiled first before you sauté, fry or mash. This versatile root appears from soup to dessert. Today we are going to make some oven baked yuca fries.

You can buy it in the freezer section

or the fresh root, if you can find it.

It peels easily even though the skin looks like bark.

Cut it in smaller sections around 3″ in size. In a sauce pan cover with water and boil for 20-30 minutes until it is tender, the center will crack a little. You need to boil it even if you are going to deep fry the yuca fries. I find that the frozen yuca turns out just as well as the fresh root. It almost turns out more tender, and you don’t have to peel and cut it!

When you cut it you’ll see a fiber like on a banana after it’s peeled, but this one is hard.
You can see it in the center, just remove it. Then continue to cut into wedges.
Spread them out onto a baking sheet. I always use my stoneware bar pan, things brown up so well on that. Drizzle with a little oil and sprinkle with seasoned salt, garlic powder and pepper. Bake in a 350F preheated oven for 20-25 minutes until golden, turn once or twice for browning.

I like to top mine with some nice finishing salt. Serve it with your favorite dipping sauce. Mayo and garlic chili sauce works well or Chipotle Mayonnaise, or whatever your hearts desire. Maybe a honey mango mustard! Actually they’re quite good on their own if you season them well. My family liked them I think they are worth a try.
You can always visit me at The Tiny Skillet and Aqua Sunday ! Enjoy your weekend!
12 thoughts on “Cultural Connections: Oven Baked Yuca Fries

  1. Welcome to Our Krazy Kitchen Lyndsey! :-)These Yuca fries look great and they are so interesting! I can't believe I've never tried them. Great job on your post. Can't wait to see all the goodies you'll be bringing us on the 3rd Saturday every month!Have a great weekend!

  2. Thanks Martha,it's nice to be here. You've made me feel welcome!You should really try these, you can pick up the frozen yuca at Publix. My daughter said it smelled like baking bread when I was boiling it.

  3. Thanks Elle, I wasn't sure how hard it is to find else where. It's too bad 😦 I guess you'll have to visit and I'll make some for you, just to try it! 😀

  4. Very informative write up on yuca…we also called it tapioca here. Very cheap common here, can even grow in our back yard. I like to make yuca pudding by grating and then mixed with egg, sugar and coconut milk and bake till golden brown. yummy!

  5. Hi Lyndsey, welcome to OKK!This looks really good. I like making oven fries with potatoes – I hope I can find yucca, I would love to try this for myself!

  6. THanks for sharing your recipe! I just made these with the frozen Goya yucca. I boiled it for 20 minutes, then cut it up and tossed with olive oil, paprika, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Baked for 20 minutes (flipping half way) at 400*SO delicious!! I can't wait to make them again 🙂

Leave a Reply

