A "French" Brunch of Flan and Bread

I asked my daughter what country I should make something from for Cultural Connections and she said France. So I did a little research, but I wanted something easy to start with and found this cheese and spinach flan. It would be perfect for a breakfast or brunch. Since I already had the goat cheese…and Maranda wanted me to make something “French” when I searched I added goat cheese and made sure I could use it. Why not? I found a recipe at French Cooking for Dummies it confused me a little because it’s called a flan, but it sounded so good. This is so similar to the Spinach Frittata recipe that I made for Martha Mondays awhile ago. That one confused me because it wasn’t what I would call a frittata. It reminded me more of a souffle.
Parmesan, goat cheese and spinach flan (adapted from: French cooking for dummies)

1 cup fresh spinach leaves – washed and a coarse chop

1 small shallot – minced

1 teaspoon fresh chives

chopped

3 oz goat cheese – diced

2 oz Parmesan cheese – grated

2 eggs

2 tablespoons heavy cream

salt and pepper

1 tablespoon butter

Saute shallots in butter until soft, add spinach and cook until soft, let cool a bit (just so the heat won’t scramble the eggs). Preheat oven to 350 degree F or 180 C. In a large bowl whisk eggs, add cream, Parmesan, and chives. Add goat cheese, and the spinach/shallot mix if cool enough. Salt and pepper to taste and whisk again. Pour into buttered ramekins and bake for 20 minutes. Serve right away while still warm.
Mmmm…tasty! This recipe made two ramekin size portions, I am sure you could double it and it would work just as well.
I really don’t care what you call this it was fantastic! I loved the flavors and I don’t know if it is a French flan, or Italian frittata! I glad I made this simple and elegant dish.( It would be perfect with a glass of champagne ) Ha! Then it must be French!! 😀
It was a treat nice and creamy, and the spinach and tang of the goat cheese…

Here is a recipe for some French Bread to go with this lovely brunch.

4 cups flour

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1 1/3 cup warm water

1 1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoon olive oil

2 teaspoons yeast

Add ingredients the order the bread machine instructs you to do. Mine has you add the liquids first and end up with the yeast in a little well made in the flour. Set the bread machine in dough cycle. Remove the dough on a floured surface and form into two loaves. (I made one loaf, so it is bigger than baguettes would be) Let rise for 40 minutes in a warm place. On your stoneware or baking pan sprinkle some corn meal and carefully place the loaves on pan. Brush with egg wash (I egg and 1 tablespoon water) slice down the center for baguette or several diagonally across for loaves. Bake 30-35 minutes.

Bon apetit!

3 thoughts on “A "French" Brunch of Flan and Bread

Leave a Reply

