Green Tea Shortbread Cookies – (a little green for today)

Matcha or green tea powder is used in many recipes across the board…I’ve seen it used in pasta, cakes, breads and many cookies, including shortbread cookies. I first bought the green tea powder meaning to add it to drinks and such to help incorporate this healthy tea into my diet. Well to be honest, green tea is not one of my favorite drinks. So the ideas have been collecting for other ways to use it. I was able to find it in my local Asian market, I also saw it at Whole Foods, so I know you shouldn’t have much trouble finding it.

The other day I was reading the Mountain Rose news letter and they had a recipe for Matcha Shortbread Cookies on the Mountain Rose Blog and I thought these would be perfect for my post here since it is on St Patrick’s Day

Matcha Green Tea Shortbread Cookies
2 cups organic flour
1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/2 cup organic powdered sugar
3 tablespoons organic matcha powder
2 sticks (1 cup) organic unsalted butter, softened
1/2 teaspoon my home made vanilla extract, instead of almond extract
Directions

Sift the dry cookie dough ingredients together in a small bowl. In another bowl, whip the softened butter by hand or with an electric mixer until just smooth. Add the extract to the butter and then combine with all of the dry ingredients. Divide the dough in half and shape into two discs. Wrap the dough in plastic and chill the discs for an hour or two in the refrigerator until completely firm.

Lightly flour your work surface, as well as the top of your dough, and roll out to about an 1/8”. Cut rolled dough with your favorite cookie cutters and place them on parchment paper lined baking sheets. They don’t expand much at all, so don’t worry about creating lots of space between the cookies. Bake them in a preheated oven at 325°F for 10-15 minutes or until lightly golden at the edges.

I really liked them so tasty good, and they have a strong green tea flavor, but if you don’t like that and want to cut back on the matcha powder add in a little more powdered sugar. I think had it in the refrigerator for too long, because it was so hard and I had to wait a while so it would be soft enough to roll out. By the time I had them on the baking sheet they were a little too soft, but they still tasted good. I think next time I won’t roll them so thin, or you could shape it in a log and just slice them off from that to make the cookies.

Even though they are not really an Irish dish, I think I’ve made a Cultural Connection! 🙂

Happy St Patrick’s Day!!

3 thoughts on “Green Tea Shortbread Cookies – (a little green for today)

Leave a Reply

